In this article:
- Twingate Component: Twingate Client (Windows)
In the context menu of the Twingate Client, there are two options to end the program but they function in a very different way.
The difference in behaviour is due to the Start Before Logon support within Twingate. If the application were to logout and disconnect on quit/system restart, we would be unable to facilitate authenticating against a Twingate resource (such as an AD server) because there would be no active Twingate network. As such, when selecting the quit option by itself, the Twingate Windows Service remains online.
In the screenshot below:
1. Log out & Disconnect will log out of the twingate network. Twingate will be disconnected but the client UI will still be open. This options should be used at all times if you plan to connect to a different network or wish to disconnect completely from the twingate network.
2. Quit will close the application without logging out the Twingate Client connection in the process. This will not allow you to access twingate resources that require authentication and could cause unintended disruption. This option should only be used if you already logged out from Twingate and wish to exit the Twingate Client completely.
Note: Choosing Quit instead of Log out & Disconnect may cause issues with connectivity if you change networks, the remedy in this case would be starting the client and then selecting Log out & Disconnect before reconnecting.